Welcome to the Website of the Jefferson County, Illinois Emergency Management Agency

Our office is located in Mt. Vernon, Illinois, the county seat of Jefferson County, Illinois. Jefferson County includes the Municipalities of Belle Rive, Bluford, Bonnie, Dix, Ina, Mount Vernon, Nason, Opdyke, Texico, Waltonville & Woodlawn in Southern Illinois

The primary responsibility of the Jefferson County Emergency Management Agency (JCEMA) is to better prepare Jefferson County for natural, manmade or technological disasters, hazards or acts of terrorism.  Our goal is a "better prepared county".

The Jefferson County Emergency Management Agency coordinates the county's disaster mitigation, preparedness, response, protection and recovery programs and activities, functions as the County Emergency Response Commission and maintains a local Emergency Operations Center.  The EOC acts as the lead in crisis / consequence management response and operations to notify, activate, deploy and employ county resources in response to any threat or act of terrorism.

The Jefferson County Emergency Management Agency assists local governments with multi-hazard emergency operations plans and maintains the Jefferson County Emergency Operations Plan as well as providing mutual aid to neighboring counties.  Jefferson County is also a member of the state wide Illinois Emergency Management Mutual Aid System (IEMMAS) through the Illinois Emergency Services Management Association (IESMA)

Current Conditions Widget & Alert Ticker Courtsey of WillyWeather